Who we are ?

Association of Seniors of the European Public Service


Since October 3 2008, the Association of Seniors of the European Public Service (SEPS/SFPE) has been an “ASBL” (Non-profit association under Belgian law – n°806 839 565). SEPS is pluralist and apolitical in nature and independent of political parties, authorities, European institutions and professional associations working within and outside those institutions. SEPS is not subsidised but receives logistic support from European Institutions.

Aims and objectives

The aim of SEPS is to defend the interests of former European civil servants and other agents as well as colleagues in invalidity and, as a priority, to defend their social rights.

Defence of the essential elements of our social security

The major objective is the effective defence of the post-active members of staff’s acquired rights such as the sickness insurance system (JSIS), pensions, the method of adjusting pensions, allowances and any other relevant questions.
The Staff Regulations for officials of the European civil service make little reference to the post-active staff members. Retired staff will not be officially involved in consultations or negotiations to defend their rights until Annex II of the Staff Regulations is adapted.
SEPS has one essential aim – an ambitious one. Retired staff must be effectively represented with voting rights in the main joint committees and negotiating groups.
To be represented and informed, SEPS invites staff members still active but near to retirement and willing to defend their future rights, to become members of the Association and of the Administrative Board.
Therefore, active staff members, members of SEPS, are part of joint committees, of social dialog and of negotiations in order to be present when rules are discussed which concern the “post-active staff”.

Communication

Communication with the members is a key subject but often difficult: retired staff are living everywhere and up to 40% of retired SEPS members are not keen on using the internet. The members’ information bulletin, issued four times a year, takes this severe limitation into account: it is distributed by post.
Information meetings are held at least four times a year to allow for discussion and understanding of the major problems to be resolved. These full-day meetings, in which each member of the association has the floor, highlight the issues to be addressed.

Assistance for Members

Info an help 7/7 days : +32 (0) 475 472 470

The use of a mobile telephone number as the call centre of SEPS-SFPE, 7 days a week for almost 24hrs a day to respond to general questions and to pensioners who wish to talk about a particular problem, a rule of JSIS, to understand a position taken by a health insurance company, potential difficulties in making contact with PMO, to find a form, in the evening, at week-ends…
Often SEPS puts a question to PMO or to the Social Services in the name of one of its members (STAFF Contact on-line or directly with the settlement office, at the PMO “Welcome Forum”, with the Head of Unit “Pensions”, or with the Head of Unit “JSIS”)
This has happened for health insurances policies, survivor’s pensions, orphan pensions, divorces, …arguments can be proposed by members or an issue may become the subject of further study, or comparison or publication…

Duty service at N105 00/010

Someone is on duty Tuesday and Thursday, at least between 10 a.m. and 3 p.m. at the SEPS office in Avenue des Nerviens 105, to respond to questions and for obtaining documents or forms.

Legal assistance

Hendrik Smets, lawyer by training, is our legal adviser for questions and requests from members (Statutory rights, inheritance and fiscal law). This SEPS contribution consists of straight forward advice following examination of the problem, sometimes followed by an exchange of mail or guidance to a lawyer, potentially leading to a court case (cf WOJCIECHOWSKI case, which now constitutes jurisprudence and was recently cited in the Lobkowicz case):
European officials who have not transferred their pension rights to the Community scheme and who qualify for a partial or full pension from the Community can now introduce a request for their national pension for those years worked for a national employer.
This applies also to those who have already introduced such a request and who have, so far, been denied their national pension rights.

Duty service at N105 00/010

For members who want to pose questions or obtain an appointment, volunteers are present at the office to answer questions or to note such questions to find solutions in a short time. They also deliver documents and forms.
– Mondays and Thursdays : Gina Dricot and Antonio Pinto (10h00 – 12h00 et 14h30 – 16h30). Statutary and general questions
– Tuesdays : Giustina Canu (10h00 – 12h30) ; Patrizia De Palma (12h30-16h00). General questions
– Thursdays : Helen James (10h00 à 12h30). Questions regarding JSIS and general questions
– Nadine Froment (12h30 à 15h00). General questions

Training in informatics

SEPS is organising training sessions to learn how to use simple informatics tools such as tablets and smart phones so as to facilitate contact, access information, overcome loneliness… One particular objective of this training is to encourage retired colleagues to use My IntraComm and JSIS on-line.

Compared with others

SEPS is a member of the European platform of seniors’ organisations – AGE Platform Europe – a network grouping more than 140 national organisations that defend the interests of the elderly in the EU. “AGE” is financially supported by the Commission.
SEPS has also studied all the health insurance policies to supplement JSIS coverage which are offered to officials and agents of the European Institutions in order to inform and advise its members. This led to a close collaboration with Afiliatys.

To become a member

You can become a member by completing the application form and paying the annual subscription of €30.
Contact Tel : +32 (0) 475 472 470 info@sfpe-seps.be www.sfpe-seps.be
– At the Council: Rue de la Loi, 175 (Office 02 40 CG 39) B-1048 BRUSSELS (Appointment)
– At the Commission: Av. des Nerviens 105 (Office N105 00/010) B-1049 BRUSSELS (Monday, Tuesday, Thursday from 10.00 to 15.00 or appointment)

Administrative Board, 01.06.2019: Serge Crutzen (President); Brigitte Pretzenbacher (Vice-President -relations with the EC active staff); Hendrik Smets (Vice-President – legal affairs); Philippe Bioul (Vice-President – health – social); Marc Maes (Treasurer and list of members); Nicole Caby (Secretary)
Members: Pierre-Philippe Bacri; Monique Breton; Giustina Canu; Jean-Louis Cougnon; Jean-Marie Cousin; Patrizia De Palma; Gina Dricot; Helen James; Annie Lovinfosse; Antonio Pinto Ferreira; Rosalyn Tanguy.

Qui sommes-nous ?

Association des Seniors de la fonction publique européenne

Depuis le 3 octobre 2008, l’Association des Seniors de la Fonction Publique Européenne (SEPS/SFPE) est une ASBL (loi belge – entreprise n° 806 839 565) indépendante de toute tendance politique, syndicale et confessionnelle. Elle est pluraliste et indépendante des Institutions européennes : elle ne reçoit pas de subsides mais elle profite de supports logistiques de la part des Institutions européennes.
L’ASBL SEPS/SFPE est administrée, comme le prévoit la loi, par un Conseil d’Administration élu par l’Assemblée générale, avec un mandat de trois ans.

But et objectifs :

Défendre les intérêts des fonctionnaires et autres agents des Institutions européennes, retraités et en invalidité, en priorité, leurs acquis sociaux.

Défense des éléments essentiels de notre sécurité sociale

L’objectif principal est la défense effective des acquis des pensionnés: le régime d’assurance maladie (RCAM), la pension, la méthode d’adaptation des rémunérations au coût de la vie, les allocations, … et ce qui s’y rapporte.
Le Statut des fonctionnaires des Institutions donne très peu de place aux « fonctionnaires post-actifs » en ce qui concerne la défense de leurs intérêts. Les pensionnés n’auront pas officiellement droit au chapitre tant qu’une modification relative à la composition du Comité du personnel ne sera pas possible (annexe II du Statut des fonctionnaires).
Le projet essentiel de la SEPS/SFPE est donc clair; il est ambitieux: les pensionnés doivent être représentés de manière effective, avec droit de parole et de vote dans les comités paritaires et groupes de négociation.
Pour être représentée dès maintenant et informée au mieux, la SEPS/SFPE, invite les collègues Seniors encore actifs, mais proches de la retraite (5ans) et désireux de défendre leurs futurs intérêts, à faire partie de l’Association et du Conseil d’Administration.
C’est ainsi que plusieurs de ces fonctionnaires actifs, membres de la SFPE, sont aussi membres de comités du Personnel et de comités paritaires statutaires et participent aux réunions de dialogue social et concertations afin de représenter les pensionnés lors des discussions des règlements qui les concernent.

Communication avec les retraités membres de la SEPS/SFPE

La communication avec les collègues pensionnés est un facteur très important, et quelque peu difficile, car les retraités se sont installés partout en Europe et près de 40% des pensionnés, membres de la SEPS/SFPE, n’utilisent pas (ou mal) Internet. Le Bulletin d’information de la SEPS/SFPE est distribué quatre fois par an par la poste.
Des réunions d’information sont organisées quatre fois par an, au moins, afin de permettre la discussion et la bonne compréhension des problèmes majeurs à résoudre. Ces réunions, d’une journée entière, au cours desquelles tout membre de l’association a la parole, mettent en évidence les sujets à traiter.

Aide apportée aux membres de la SEPS/SFPE

Info et aide 7J/7 : +32 (0) 475 472 470

L’utilisation d’un numéro de GSM, comme numéro d’appel de la SEPS/SFPE, 7 jours sur 7 et pratiquement 24heures sur 24 pour répondre aux questions en général et aux anciens qui désirent discuter une situation particulière, une règle du RCAM, la position prise par une compagnie d’assurance, l’éventuelle difficulté d’avoir un contact avec le PMO, de trouver un formulaire, le soir, les week-ends, …
Souvent la SFPE pose les questions au PMO ou au Service Social au nom de l’un de ses membres (STAFF Contact on line ou directement au bureau liquidateur, à l’espace accueil du PMO, au chef d’unité « Pensions », au chef d’unité « RCAM »).
Comme cela s’est produit pour les assurances complémentaires, les pensions de survie, d’orphelins, de divorcés, …des arguments peuvent être suggérés par les membres et devenir des sujets d’étude, de comparaison, de publication.

Support juridique

Hendrik Smets, juriste de formation, est notre conseiller juridique pour gérer les questions et demandes des membres (droit statutaire, successions, droit fiscal). Cette contribution de la SEPS/SFPE est un simple conseil, après examen de la question, parfois suivi d’échanges de mails ou de l’orientation vers un avocat menant éventuellement au tribunal (cf. affaire WOJCIECHOWSKI qui fait maintenant jurisprudence et a été citée récemment dans l’affaire de Lobkowicz) :
Les fonctionnaires européens qui n’ont pas transféré leurs droits à pension vers le système communautaire et qui bénéficient d’une pension communautaire (même complète) peuvent maintenant introduire une demande de pension nationale pour les années de travail prestées pour un employeur national.
Ceci vaut également pour ceux qui auraient déjà introduit une telle demande et à qui la pension nationale aurait été refusée.

Permanences au N105 00 010

Pour les membres qui veulent poser leurs questions directement ou sur rendez-vous, au bureau, des collègues bénévoles seront présents pour répondre aux questions ou prendre note de celles-ci afin de pouvoir trouver les solutions les plus adéquates dans un délai raisonnable et fournir des documents/formulaires :
– Les lundis et jeudis : Gina Dricot et Antonio Pinto (10h00 – 12h00 et 14h30 – 16h30). Questions statutaires et générales
– Les mardis : Giustina Canu (10h00 – 12h30) ; Patrizia De Palma (12h30-16h00). Questions générales
– Les jeudis : Helen James (10h00 à 12h30). Questions relatives au RCAM
– Nadine Froment (12h30 à 15h00). Questions générales

Formation en informatique

SEPS/SFPE organise une formation pour l’utilisation des outils informatiques simples tels que tablettes et smartphones pour rester en contact, être mieux informé, vaincre la solitude, … Un objectif particulier est de pousser les collègues retraités à utiliser My IntraComm et RCAM en ligne.

Un plus par rapport à d’autres

La SEPS/SFPE est un membre actif de la Plate-forme européenne AGE, réseau regroupant plus de 140 organisations nationales et internationales de pensionnés de l’UE, qui est soutenu financièrement par la Commission.
La SEPS/SFPE a étudié toutes les assurances santé complémentaires au RCAM qui sont offertes aux fonctionnaires et agents des Institutions européennes, afin de renseigner et conseiller ses membres. Il s’en est suivi une collaboration étroite avec Afiliatys.

Devenir membre

On devient membre SEPS/SFPE en remplissant le bulletin d’adhésion. Cotisation annuelle : 30 €.
Contacts Bruxelles : Téléphone : +32 (0) 475 472 470 info@sfpe-seps.be www.sfpe-seps.be
– Conseil de l’UE : 175 rue de la Loi, Bureau JL 02 40 CG39, BE-1048 Bruxelles (Sur rendez-vous)
– Commission : 105 av. des Nerviens, Bureau N105 00 010, BE-1049 Bruxelles (Lundi, Mardi et Jeudi de 10h00 à15h00 ou sur rendez-vous)

Conseil d’administration, 01.09.2020: Serge Crutzen (President);  Hendrik Smets (Vice-President – legal affairs); Marc Maes (Treasurer and list of members); Luigia Dricot-Daniele (General Secretary); Nicole Caby (Secretary ASBL); Helen James (Ambassadress PMO 3)

Members:  Monique Breton; Giuseppina Corda; Jean-Marie Cousin; Anna Angela D’Amico ; Evelyne De Houwer ; Patrizia De Palma; Rosario De Simone ; Petrus Kerstens; Antonio Pinto Ferreira; Milvia van Rij-Brizzi.